Governing Board Elections

Candidates for Americas

Arezoo Ardekani is a Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Purdue University. Honored with the Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE), Arezoo has also received an NSF CAREER Award, the Arthur B. Metzner Early Career Award from the Society of Rheology, the Society of Engineering Science (SES) Young Investigator Medal, the Sigma Xi Research Award, and is named a Purdue University Faculty Scholar. A Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) and American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Arezoo studies suspensions of drops, particles, swimmers, and complex fluids. Arezoo has published 150 articles in leading

journals and presented 75 invited/keynote talks. Arezoo is an Associate Editor of ASME Applied Mechanics Review and an Editorial Advisory Board Member of several journals, including the International Journal of Multiphase Flow. She was a co-chair of the 2022 APS-DFD meeting held in Indianapolis.

Emilie Dressaire is an Assistant Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the University of California at Santa Barbara. She received a B.S. in Engineering from ESPCI, France, an M.S. in Biophysics from Paris Sud University and a Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from Harvard University in 2009. She was a post-doctoral fellow at McGill University and an Assistant Professor at New York University before joining UCSB. Emilie's research interests in experimental fluid mechanics include complex fluid flows. Her current work focuses on fluid transport in gels to enhance 3D cell culture environment through embedded printing. Her work was featured in the Emerging Investigators issue in Soft Matter (2017). She was elected member-at-large of the American Physical Society Division of Fluid Dynamics in 2018.

Rodney O. Fox is Anson Marston Distinguished Professor at Iowa State University, USA. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the AIChE, and Associate Editor for Transport Phenomena and Fluid Mechanics of AIChE Journal. He also serves the Executive Director of Iowa State's CoMFRE Multiphase Flow Research group. In 2012, he received the European Union Marie-Curie Senior Scholar award at the Ecole Centrale de Paris, France. In 2016, he was awarded an Attractively Chair at the University of Toulouse, France. In 2017 he was awarded the International Francqui Chair at the University of Ghent, Belgium. In 2022, he received the Fulbright-Tocqueville Distinguished Chair award and the Jean D'Alembert Senior Professor Chair award at the University of Paris-Saclay, France. His research interests focus on kinetic-based model development and numerical simulation of polydisperse multiphase flows.

Erick Franklin is Associate Professor at the University of Campinas (UNICAMP), Brazil. He organized the ENCIT2018, was Scientific Editor of the JEM2015 and ICMF2019, and was Invited Keynote Lecturer for a Thematic Session in ICTAM2020+1. He is Associate Editor of the J. Braz. Soc. Mech. Sci. Eng. (Springer) and has served as Guest Editor for Special Issues of Appl. Therm. Eng., and Flow Turbul. Combust. His research interests are related to granular matter interacting with fluids, more specifically the morphodynamics of sand dunes, crystallization and jamming in granular matter, and instabilities in fluidized beds.













Rui Ni is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Johns Hopkins University, United States. He was appointed as the DOE ORISE professor in 2019. Prior to joining JHU, he was the endowed Kenneth K. Kuo Early Career Professor at Penn State University. He is current serving as an associate editor for International Journal of Multiphase Flow. He received an NSF CAREER award in fluid dynamics, ACS-PRF New Investigator Award, and NASA Early Stage Investigation award. His primary research focus is the development of advanced experimental methods for understanding multiphase flows in many applications, such as energy systems, emulsion, particle ingestion in gas turbines, landings on extraterrestrial bodies, and dust mitigation for future space exploration.

